Disabling and deleting entities or fields

Who can use this feature?

Only the Application Owner role can use this feature.

What is it? 

According to your license, the maximum number of entities are enabled on your platform. If you wish to add additional entities to your platform, you can either delete an existing unused entity or contact your Customer Success Manager.

You also have the option to disable or delete custom fields if they are not used in any of your visualizations/modules.

How does it work?

Navigate to the Settings Wheel > Entity Configuration > Entity Configuration. You can now delete the displayed entities by clicking on the trash can icon.

Note: By deleting an entity type, you are permanently deleting it and its configurations. This action can not be undone! Therefore, we instead recommend disabling entities and that you speak to your Customer Innovation Success Manager once you have reached the entity limit. To disable an entity, click the X icon. This way no data will be lost. It is just hidden and you can reactivate it easily later and via the same path.

To avoid unintentional loss of data or configurations, the following restrictions for deleting Entities have been implemented: 

  • There are Elements of that Entity type in the system
  • The parent/child feature is activated
  • The entity is the Campaign Entity
  • Shared fields are not deleted

To delete or disable a field, navigate to the field manager of the entity where you want to disable or delete a field. In the tab 'field configuration', you will find the list of all defined fields.

For fields that can be disabled, you find the 'X' at the end of the field's row. By clicking on it, a field gets disabled. If it is successful, the field row will be marked red.

Via the trash icon, you have the option to permanently delete a field. Please note that this action cannot be undone and may result in data loss. 

Please also note that it might not be possible to delete or disable a field if it is used as a display criterion in any of your visualizations/the ITONICS modules. An error message will appear at the top, indicating that the field is in use. You first need to remove it from the visualization configuration. After that, you will be able to disable/delete the field from the field manager.

Was this article helpful?
1 out of 1 found this helpful