Providing and requesting content-specific permissions

What is it? 

Each user in the system has specific permissions based on the assignment of roles by the Application Owner. However, as a content creator, you might have more powerful permissions than a user with another permission setting. 

The application gives you individual permission to provide more powerful permissions for specific content elements to other users. Or, vice versa, to request a more powerful permission scheme from another user for a specific content element.

itonics-share-permissions.png

How does it work?

By clicking the Provide Permissions (or request permission button) button in the elements detail page's upper right menu (1), you can allow other users to perform a specific action on that element (for example, edit or delete the element).

After clicking the Provide Permissions button, you will see a pop-up. Fill out the fields according to your needs and click "Share".

Screenshot 2024-01-18 at 17.04.17.png

Here you can:

  • Choose recipients and select from the following options (1):
    • Individual users
    • User groups
    • User contexts
    • User roles
  • Choose from one of the following permissions to share with the selected recipients (2):
    • View (for every tab)
    • Edit (for every tab)
    • Rate
    • Delete

Note: you have the option to share multiple permissions at once by selecting individual permissions from the different “permission group”, or you can, i.e. “share all view permissions” at once by checking the respective checkbox of the entire “permission group”, in this case “View”. Be aware that if you only select the permission for a “second-level” permission, such as the “KPIs (View) permission” in above’s example, automatically the “first-level” permission, in this case “Details (View)” will automatically be shared as well. Also, note that it is a known limitation that if the entire “permission group” is checked, i.e. “View permissions”, while then one underlying permission is unchecked, that the “group checkbox” is still checked. However, note that in this case, the unselected permission would actually not be shared, as specifically been unselected.

Screenshot 2024-01-18 at 17.04.49.png

  • Add a message (optional) (3).
  • See who the element is already shared with.
  • Get a shareable link (4).

When ready, click the Share button. The users, you have shared the permissions of the element with will receive a notification with information about that change.

Learn how to simply share an element with other users without adding special permissions to it.

 

Please note: This feature is not available for elements that have the "Draft" status.

Was this article helpful?
1 out of 2 found this helpful