Roadmap Snapshot

Roadmap snapshots allow you to save different states of your roadmap for later reference and backup purposes.

Whenever there are major changes on your Roadmap you should take snapshots for proper documentation and later reference. When merging a Roadmap Scenario a snapshot is taken automatically to document the previous state of the Roadmap before merging the roadmap changes from that scenario.

How to Create Roadmap Snapshots

Depending on the configured Roadmap permissions the logged-in user is able to perform the following actions on the Roadmap to create snapshots.

Manual snapshot creation

Depending on the configured Roadmap permissions the logged-in user is able to manually create a new Roadmap snapshot by navigating to Roadmap Settings > Snapshot > Take Snapshot. You can define a snapshot name before saving the snapshot.

Roadmap_snapshot.png

Manual snapshots of all existing Roadmaps

The Application Owner is able to take snapshots of all existing Roadmaps with one click by navigating to Settings > Roadmap > Roadmap Snapshots and clicking on the Create Roadmap Snapshots of all Roadmaps button. The system creates a snapshot for each existing roadmap with the following name: [yyyy-mm-dd hh:mm] Backup Snapshot.

Automatic snapshot creation before scenario merge

Before merging a Roadmap Scenario into the master Roadmap the system automatically creates a snapshot to document the state of the Roadmap before merging the changes from that scenario. The automatically created snapshot names follow the following convention: [yyyy-mm-dd hh:mm>] Snapshot before merging scenario <scenario name>.

Explore and Manage Roadmap Snapshots

Once you have taken a new Roadmap snapshot you can explore and manage them in the following ways depending on the roadmap permissions configured by the Application Owner:

  • Explore and Open Roadmap Snapshots
  • Manage and Delete Roadmap Snapshots

Explore and Open Roadmap Snapshots

You can explore all taken snapshots of a specific roadmap by navigating to Roadmap Settings > Snapshot > Show all snapshots. The system will present all taken snapshots on a timescale which can be used to explore all existing snapshots.

Roadmap_snapshot_2.png

You can open the snapshot in a separate tab by clicking on the colored bubble on the timescale.

Manage and Delete Roadmap Snapshots

All snapshots across all existing roadmaps can be found and managed via Settings > Roadmap > Roadmap Snapshots. Here all roadmap snapshots are listed showing the following information:

  • Snapshot name - name of the snapshot
  • Roadmap - which roadmap does this snapshot belong to
  • Created At - creation date of the snapshot
  • [Coming soon] Created By - the user that created this snapshot

Roadmap_snapshot_3.png

Additionally, you can search for individual snapshots, change the sorting options and delete obsolete snapshots.

LEARN MORE:

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful