Workflow dependencies

For each button you define within the workflow configuration, you can configure a dependency to other defined buttons within the respective workflow step. You can define the following dependencies with their respective conditions:

  • Button dependency
  • Task dependency
  • Value dependency

Screenshot_2021-07-21_at_15.59.49.png

Button dependency

Each defined button can depend on one or more other buttons you defined for each workflow step. You can configure your workflow in a way that ensures certain actions are done before performing any other follow-up actions.

A typical use case here is to ask for further enrichments of an idea or project before it can move to the next phase:

  • "Upload your project idea's business case before the project idea can move to the prototype phase."
  • "Define the project team and project scope before your project can qualify for the refine phase."

Screenshot_2021-07-21_at_16.00.31.png

Task dependency

If you have enabled the task management for your entity type you can make each defined button depend on the status of the tasks that are relevant for the respective workflow step. You can configure your workflow in a way to ensure certain tasks have been worked on before performing any other follow-up actions.

A typical use case here is to schedule certain tasks (with assignees) for an idea or project before it can move to the next phase:

  • "All tasks that are marked as critical need to be done before the project can move to the next phase."

Screenshot_2021-07-21_at_17.04.45.png

Value dependency

Each defined button can depend on the status of any configured dropdown field. You can configure your workflow in a way that ensures that certain buttons are only visible when the respective elements meet a defined condition. Only then can you perform other follow-up actions.

 A typical use case here is to ask for further enrichments of an idea or project before it can move to the next phase:

  • "You can only mark a project as canceled if the project status is NOT canceled."
  • "You can only re-activate an idea or project if the status is inactive."
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful